Welcome to the official website for Tolleshunt D’Arcy Parish Council. This website contains details of the Parish Council and its business, plus information about the parish of Tolleshunt D’Arcy.
Tolleshunt D’Arcy is a village situated about eight miles east of Maldon with a boundary to the south on the River Blackwater estuary and to the north, Tiptree Heath.
It is a vibrant community situated at the junction of routes to Tollesbury, Maldon, Tiptree, and Mersea. The focal point of the village is The Maypole opposite which is the village shop and public house. There is also an Indian restaurant at the corner of South Street and Tollesbury Road.
The village has a popular Primary School and St Nicholas Church which dates from 1380.
The privately-owned Campion’s Wood is a haven for wildlife in the centre of the village.
The Village Hall is used by many local groups and the Management Committee runs a number of social events throughout the year. The Recreation Ground has a well-equipped children’s play area and a full-size outdoor gym. The Pavilion is available for sports teams and a number of events such as the Village Fete and The Horticultural Show are held on the Recreation Ground every year.
The village has been the home to two distinguished former residents. At the turn of the twentieth century Dr Salter and later the author Margery Allingham. Both are commemorated by blue plaques on D’Arcy House in South Street.
Outside of the village, there is a 5-acre wood owned by the Parish and a local farmer has now created a sizeable vineyard.
The area is very popular with horseriders and there are a number of riding schools and livery stables within the Parish.
The surrounding countryside is extremely attractive with a great deal of wildlife.